The Science of Superheroes–Spiderman, Godzilla, and X-Men


Starting today and for the next few weeks, the independent movie theater here in Columbus by Ohio State, the Gateway, it having quite an event. There will be a great number of movies being shown with some of the top superheroes from comic books and film, and afterward a look at what the science has to say about it.

I can to know about this event because the organizers were looking for some people in the physics department to participate. I wanted to jump in, and so I will be on the panels. While I am not much of a comic book reader, I know the movies (and will see them before the panel discussions), and there will be experts in these areas. I’ll be bringing my physics background, and I think there will be some people from the biology department.

Tonight we will be seeing and then discussing Spiderman and the science of the superhero.

Next week (May 9th), it is the science of the villains from the Spiderman universe.

The week after (May 16th) it is the most anticipated movie for me this year, Godzilla.

The week after that (May 23rd) it is X-Men: Days of Future Past. (I hope we talk more time travel than mutations.)

Lastly, on May 30th, it is about what is more important, the facts or the fiction the story teller weavers.

All the panels themselves are free to see, but you will likely want to watch the movies, which can be seen just before the panel discussions event night. Check out info on the Facebook Event page as well as the Gateway’s page.

What's on your mind?

